Waurika football players receive honors

By Sancey Barton, Eagle Talk Writer

When District B-2 (Waurika, Maud, Geary, Maysville, Cyril, Allen, Alex, Bray-Doyle, Strother and Macomb) football coaches selected players for District honors, eight Waurika players were on the list.

First team District selections include junior Zane Howard, kicker and junior Mason Boyd, defensive line.

Second team honorees are junior Zackry Jenkins, quarterback; junior Nichoals Gomez, defensive line; junior Noah Gomez, offensive line; sophomore Sage Cathey, linebacker; sophomore Tucker Mora, running back and freshman Scott Showalter, defensive back.

Seven WHS players chosen to the Duncan Banner All-Area Football team which represents teams from Class B to Class 5A (Marlow, Velma-Alma, Duncan, Empire, Comanche, Central High, Waurika and Bray-Doyle) follow:

Cornerback Scott Showalter is the only player for WHS to make the Banner’s first team.

Second team selection is Zane Howard, kicker.

Those receiving honorable mention are Mason Boyd, Nichoals Gomez, Noah Gomez, Zackry Jenkins and Tucker Mora.

Zane Howard, kicker, also received honorable mention on the Daily Oklahoman All-State Football team.

All photos by Shelly Mora.

Zane Howard Junior

Zane Howard

Mason Boyd Junior

Mason Boyd

Zackry Jenkins Junior

Zackry Jenkins

Sage Cathey Sophomore

Sage Cathey







Nichoals Gomez Junior

Nichoals Gomez

Noah Gomez, Junior

Noah Gomez

Tucker Mora Sophomore

Tucker Mora

Scott Showalter Freshman

Scott Showalter